People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

The glitz and glamour of city life may be enchanting for some, but those living in metropolises encounter a number of issues in their day-to-day life. In this essay, I will discuss the main problems associated with this issue, including the cost of living and the degradation of air quality, and I believe that governments around the world should do what they can to encourage to city residents to move to regional areas. Two major problems that people living in metropolises often have to face daily are low air quality and traffic congestion. In terms of the former issue, those living in big cities are often confronted with high levels of air pollution, which is caused mainly by gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles, emitted into the atmosphere, especially during rush hours. In fact, poor air quality would be a significant contributor to serious health problems, such as lung cancer or other respiratory diseases. As well as this, the cost of living in urban areas is likely to be much higher than it is in villages or small towns. Urban citizens have to pay higher prices for housing, transport, and even food. In fact, some people living in major cities may not able to cover these costs, and they have to live in narrow and uncomfortable places. I agree that authorities should motivate people to move to regional areas to alleviate the aforementioned issues. Firstly, when people move away from metropolises, the population density in these cities would be decreased. Therefore, this can result in a low number of vehicles travelling on streets in cities, which can definitely reduce levels of air pollution, which is hazardous to the health of citizens. Secondly, cost of living in rural regions is much affordable so that they may have a more comfortable life, and this will also relieve the pressure on the housing supply, where many people are forced to live in small, uncomfortable spaces. In conclusion, severe air pollution and the high living cost are among the most serious problems facing city residents nowadays, and personally, I feel that authorities should encourage people to relocate to other areas to live.