Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

In recent years, traffic congestion has become an enormous obstacle for people living in metropolitan areas. In my opinion, this essay will look at some primary causes of this, and offer some possible solutions to the problems. There are two main reasons why the congestion in metropolises is on the rise. The first reason is that since a large number of people have recently migrated to reside in urban areas, there are an excessive number of commuters travel in cities on a daily basis. As a result, streets are usually overcrowded, and this, coupled with insufficient infrastructure of transport systems, could result in heavy traffic jams, especially during peak hours. As well as this, individuals prefer using private vehicles rather than public transport. This is because, with the growing wealth of city dwellers, a number of people who can afford a car rise dramatically, and private vehicles stands out for convenience of time-saving and flexibility. As a result, there are numerous means of transport travelling on streets, which greatly contribute to traffic congestion. However, there are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, it is necessary for governments to spend their budget on improving transport infrastructure as well as public transportation. With more national financial resources allocated to the upgradation up gradation of the transport system, it would encourage residents to travel by public transport, such as bus, train or subway instead of private means, leading to a lower number of private vehicles on roads, would help to reduce traffic congestion. Secondly, politicians should restrict the excessive usage of individual transport by imposing higher taxes or charging a congestion fee. In London, for example, there is a congestion charge of 10% per day for every car for drivers going to the city during rush hours, which has helped to discourage people from driving private transport into the center and raise more money for public transport. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to traffic congestions, and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.