Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present scenario, university fees are soaring, and employment opportunities are decreasing in the job market. I do not agree, with people who believe that subjects related to arts are irrelevant in today's competitive market and universities give more importance to practical courses which ensure job after finishing their course. Firstly, this essay will discuss the relevance of art subject in various high profile jobs, and secondly, it shed some light on why the practical course is not the only way to secure employment. Education and subject choice are a matter of individual interest,it is right of every student that they can choose any course and pursue their career in that particular field. The field of arts known for intellectuals and history and philosophy mostly attracts scholars. In addition, many well-established novelists and diplomats belong to this educational background. For instance, the Indian Administration Service course required great command of history and philosophy to clear the exam. Furthermore, employment and getting a job need many other things than the educational degree like communication skills, leadership quality, and personality. A practical course can enhance the chance of getting employment but cannot assure completely. Many professionals facing unemployment situations after completing their university because of stiff competition in the professional market. For example, various Charted Accountant force to do part-time jobs at small firms, because of the oversupply of these professionals decline the demand for Charted Accountants in the market. These competitions are common in other professions such as engineers and software developers. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the fact that changing course patterns could help in the unemployment situation. However, history and philosophy subjects still have relevance in the job market and there is no set formula or practical course which can give surety of employment because in the real world employer consider many other things in the candidates before giving them an appointment letter.