Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed that several people have chosen to work for themselves by setting up their own business instead of choosing to work for a company or industry. The reasons why this has been occurring and the drawbacks will be presented in this essay. Broadly speaking, we live in an extremely competitive world, where people´s intention is not only to be professionally succesfull but also to have a better life in terms of finance. It is known that in certain regions of a country, working for somebody means, being a blue-collar worker, receive orders, obey the boss, work hard in order to make some money to pay the bills. By opening their own business, people tend to believe that their dream of living in a better condition may come true. The advantages of being an entrepreneur are that: the person is able to conduct his business the way he desires, consequently, the possibility of having more free time to dedicate to the family is higher, furthermore, there is no boss to argue with the person all the time due to the fact that he is the one who commands the company. On the other hand, some drawbacks must be warned, depending on the kind of business which is opened, it may demand extra hours of work in order to make it grow or to attend the necessities of the clients. Another counterpart is that employers must be hired and the possibilities of having work -related problems with them are real. Also, If the business owner fails in conducting the company, he may bankrupt and have to find strength to start all over again. To conclude, opening your own company is not that simple, I can comment about it due to the fact that I have already tried to open my own store and thought that I would have more free time to spend with my family, but instead, I had to work overtime and worse, the mission of increasing substantially my income has not been achieved yet. Thus, a recommedation that I would make is, think about the advantages and disadvantages before deciding what to do.