Traffic congestion is becoming more and more common in urban areas. What are the causes? What solutions can be adopted to solve this problem?

It is true that traffic jams have become a big problem for many major cities. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and then offer feasible solutions to it. There are a number of factors responsible for congestion. Chief among these is that cities attract to a number of migrated people, then leading to the exploding population in many cities, however the infrastructures is not insufficient and improving enough to adapt to rising the need and demands of citizens. As a consequence, the streets become overcrowded and being a bottleneck every time.Ho Chi Minh city, for example, always have traffic congestion almost every time especially in a rush -hour, hence the excessive number of commuters in the city.Another reason is that people prefer using private vehicles rather than public transport. Because it is time-saving and convenient. Consequently, this demand attributes to traffic jams. Various measures, nevertheless, can be adopted to tackle the situation. The first possible approach is that the government should invest money to improve public transport as well as infrastructure with a modern system. This will encourage citizens to use public transport instead of their own vehicles, because it is low taxes and convenient. As the result, the congestion can decrease significantly. The second solution is that the authorities should impose the strict law that people must pay more money when moving by private vehicles in the peak-time. London, for example, people are charged money for driving by their cars in the rush hour and this charging money will use for improving the transport system. Therefore, the number of private vehicles, as well as congestion, congestion will be decreased. In conclusion, these are several reasons that can be given to explain why congestion is a common problem for many metropolia.,, However steps can be taken to alleviate this issues.