‘For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Music is a great language to express meaning, message or simply express emotions. Although music is considered a gift, I think it is just as important as the ability to read or write. Playing a musical instrument is very beneficial to our lives, especially mentally. Psychologists have proven that people who play musical instruments like piano, guitar, etc often learn better than their peers. They have better creativity, memory and logical thinking about subject like math or drawing. Therefore, it is not surprising that famous people in the world often play an instrument in their childhood. Not only that, musical instruments also help children develop emotions. Music learners often have patience. Because they have to persevere in practicing or learning to play without making mistakes is a process. There is also confidence, they are more confident when standing in front of a decision or a crowd. An interesting study shows that participating in the carnival possession or orchestra show makes students feel valued and meaningful. Overall, there is no doubt whatsoever that music can make youngsters mentally and socially sound, which will reap benefits in their academic careers. The one hope I have is to see all guardians and powers-that-be pay more attention to the learning of musical instruments in educational institutions.