Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects. But others believe that teenagers should focus on the subjects that they are good at or that they find the most interest. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

School plays a vital role in fostering skills and knowledge needed in both work and personal life. While it is considered by some that adolescents ought to learn all subjects at school, there are others who oppose this view and think that teenagers should concentrate on their strong subjects or subjects of their interest. In my opinion, studying all subjects is advisable for the social and academic benefits that it provides. Some argue that focusing on a few subjects enables adolescents to learn about each content area in-depth. This is highly beneficial in recent times as technological advancement has created a knowledge -based society, where those with specialised knowledge has a significant advantage in securing a high-paying job. For instance, subjects such as art and music are irrelevant for students who aspire to become an engineer, thus time could be spent more productively for them if learning all subjects were not required. Others, on the other hand, claim that it is crucial for adolescents to develop basic knowledge in all the content areas a school curriculum offers in order to become productive members of society. Social situations and issues that one encounters in life vary, meaning that a wide variety of skills and knowledge is required to effectively cope with them. Therefore, general knowledge gained through learning all school subjects helps to lead a fulfilled life. Art and music, for instance, certainly enrich one's personal life while learning about geology helps a person to protect himself from natural disasters. Finally, my own view is that teenagers benefit from studying all subjects in the long term. In addition to the social benefit, acquiring general knowledge allows them to explore other career options. Having various options in life is especially important for a teenager who does not usually have the foresight that adults have. This can be seen in the fact that a large portion of university students in the US decide to change their majors. In conclusion, I believe that adolescents ought to learn all school subjects for the long-term benefits it brings. It is crucial that education systems ensure healthy development in children.