Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

Some believe that developed countries should offer assistance in terms of food and education to the under-developed ones. While others assert that the poor nations should be independant and tackle the issues on their own. This essay will analyse both the perspectives with relevant examples. On one hand, a group of people think that the prosperous nations should help those who are below the poverty line, with basic necessities required for survival. The larger nations can extend their support as a good deed towards those in deprivation. Providing with support in terms of food, education and health facilities, can help the lesser fortunate nations move one step ahead in mitigating their basic issues. For example, during the pandemic, many nations were deprived of minimum health arrangements like hospital beds, doctors and even vaccines. Top countries like the USA and the UK came forward and extended their support in providing medical aid to the African countries in need. Furthermore, having a mutual alliance between two countires of opposite financial status, can help the exchange of valuable resources, which can be immensely beneficial for both. There can be a possible interchange of eductional education & health facilities, with having outsourcing facilities. On the other hand, it is argued that the poorer countries should take the onus of addressing their issues themselves. Many lesser fortunate lands barely have any government funds left, to eradicate poverty, improve the health facilities or even deliver minimum education. At the same time, the politicians are extremely corrupt and exhaust all the resources for their personal benefits instead of serving the countrymen. Additionally, it is sometimes seen that many smaller countries can get completely dependent on the free resources received by the larger nations, thus developing a habit of not working towards looking after their own issues. To summarize, as much as there is a need for wealthier empires to distribute their resources to the under-developed countries, it is also imperative for the poor nations to take some efforts to improve their financial status.