In some countries, the Government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative

Undoubtedly with the increasing population globally, the commuting needs are rising, leading to traffic congestion. Some countries have tried different methods to curb traffic congestion; one is implementing tax during rush hours. I believe this creates a negative impact and will not solve the problem because it is challenging for people to pay for something that is a necessity and will make a wrong impression of the Government. Firstly, traveling is a necessity of life, and many people prefer to use their vehicle to save time and become independent. There are different kinds of jobs where many people need to use their vehicle to reach on time, and they do not want to wait for public transport. In most parts of the world, the office hours are identical, so implementing extra tax will not stop people from using their motor. As a result, extra tax will only cause an additional burden for the regular commuter who are doing nine to five jobs. Secondly, implementing extra tax will decrease the ruling party's popularity and impact the next elections. Adding tax will not reduce the traffic during the rush hours, and people will eventually abide and pay the implemented tax. However, on the same note, people will not vote for the Government party in the next election due to their citizen's non-friendly policies and adding extra taxes. To conclude, adding an extra tax to reduce traffic congestion will not reduce traffic; however, adding extra burden on people and put the ruling government vote bank at stake.