People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advances of technology comes the disappearance of face-to-face conversations. Indeed, there has been a growing preference for online rather than direct interaction and this phenomenon can be attributed to a number of causes. From my perspective, albeit the lack of personal activities can lead to potential problems, the benefits of this new means of communication far outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, to address the concerns of the opponents, it is necessary to acknowledge that taking advantage of online communication can possibly result in a severe lack of interpersonal skills. People who spend all of their time socializing through a chat box may forget the way to strike up a conversation directly and all the subtleties that come with eye-to-eye communication such as body language, facial expression, and intonation. Consequently, this will eventually take a toll on one's ability to make public speeches or to voice their opinions in front of a group of people, thus even potentially doing harm to many aspects of their life. For instance, an online friend of you may be disillusioned when they discovered that you are not that charming and eloquent person they met through social media. Nevertheless, what makes this new means of communication so great is its ability to facilitate people and their modern lifestyle. Working city dwellers are often plagued with heavy workload and hectic schedules, so much that sparing free time to gather with their friends is tantamount to sacrificing their own routine. Keeping in touch online, as a result, is an ideal way for people to catch up with their peers without having to compromise their personal life. To exemplify, one can converse with her friends while doing household choirs or skincare to be extremely time-efficient. Regarding online shopping, the merits are abundant as they save people the trouble of having to visit the stores and also offer goods at a greater price point because less money is spent on premises rental. Moreover, online retailers allow you to refer to other customers' opinions about the products, therefore, help you to make better decisions. In conclusion, online activities are so convenient in a way that it is tailored to the urban way of life and save people so much time and energy. Although a concession has to be made due to a potential lack of skill development, this new method is to omnipotent that people will need to make personal alteration to accommodate it