Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, teenagers can be a part of different types of groups. Some of them become influenced by their peers. The opponents of these groups point out the negative aspects, however, I am inclined to believe that there is no one in the whole world who does not take advice and suggestions from others. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will demonstrate how communication with peers can lead to some benefits, but also will show the drawbacks of these connections. All humans around the world have a proclivity to imitate others. One of the main advantages of this fact is the opportunity to learn something new from peers. For instance, the marks of one student are the worst in his class, but after communicating with an excellent classmate they can be improved by the hardworking process. It means, that a first rank holder may influence dull students at school. Moreover, different interests of peers may create an open-minded community. As an example, having peers who are into something that is not interested in one, can lead to growing interest over time. All these examples above manifest the fact that peers are needed in one's life and due to the friendship with them can share thoughts, get advice and take moral support. As every rose has o thorn, peer pressure has some drawbacks. A weak-minded person connects to the wrong peer group and ends up getting addicted to alcohol or even drugs. Communication with bad companies contributes to some health repercussions and one is likely to get cancer, stroke or heart disease. Another example of this notion is a bright student with astonishing knowledge may perform poorly due to negative peer pressure. So, care by family or friends must be taken to prevent fall prey to the wrong peer pressure. In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that the merits of peers overweigh the demerits, and in most cases lead to the benefits. But parents must keep an eye on children to protect them from negative pressure from peers.