It is sometimes said that social media friends are not real friends? Give out your opinion?

Social media has become an important part of our life. While in social media, we indulge is making friends, some people believe that such friends are not real. In my opinion, this is true and this essay will elaborate why friendship in social media is not as real as our frienship in the physical world. Social media has helped bring people closer since they can communicate with friends around the world in an instant. They also take pride in making friends through this media. Although such media ensures a larger friend-circle, such friendship do not have a bond as strong as our real world friendship. A strong frienship requires that we know our companion in and out and social media fails to deliver this. For instance, a student in order to gain popularity uploads fake pictures of his travelling experiences. Since, people tend to hide their real self in the social media, friends in social media can be called real friends. Physical intimacy is one of the most important requirement of a friendship. A person can truly share his experience only with a physical being. The emotions of an individuals such as anger, happiness, and sadness can be better exhibited in the company of a friend who is physically available rather than a friend sitting miles away behind a computer screen. For instance, it is easier for a person to share his secrets with a physical friend rather than a social media friend, whom he has never met. This makes us believe that social media friends are not real as since we do not experience the same level of trust with an internet friend. To summarize, there is truth in the fact that social media friends are not real friends. Although in modern times people are using the social media for making friends, such friendships can not be considered real. A real friendship requires the feeling of closeness, physical intimacy and trust.