SHOULD GOVERNMENT REGULATE THE FAST FOOD INDUSTRY IN THE SAME WAY THAT IT REGULATES THE DRUG, ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO INDUSTRIES?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that the government should plan to establish a set of laws to control the fast- foodfood good food sector as strictly as how it regulates the drugs, alcohol and cigarette industries. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement because of the following reasons. Firstly, fast food is considered as dangerous as drugs, alcohol, and tobacco. The consumption of fast food is also the cause of hazardous diseases such as cancer, obesity, disorders of the digestive system, which are as dangerous as using drugs, alcohol, and tobacco. In fact, fast- foodfood fried in cooking oil at a high temperature causes vitamins, minerals,... in food to be destroyed quickly, which will increase diseases related to the digestive system, especially dangerous colon cancer and small bowel cancer. Therefore, fast food is the root cause of terrible illness in people, and it needs to be tightly controlled like drugs, cigarette and alcohol. Secondly, the fast- foodfood good food chains must be more responsible for the quality of their fast food. To be more specific, not only would the restaurants need to assess the quality of the food source from the moment of importing raw materials for processing but it should also ensure the quality of dishes catered to customers. For example, raw ingredients needed for processing fast foods are frequently kept frozen for many months before they are utilised, which is extremely risky for customers. Moreover, the food is cooked in second -hand cooking oil, so the quality of the food prepared at a fast- foodfood restaurant is not a high standard. Therefore, people need a quality commitment from fast food chains and also more regulations from the government on such industry to bring them decent food tasting experiences. In conclusion, I firmly think that it is more beneficial for the government to manage the fast food industries like the way they do with the drug, alcohol and tobacco industries.