Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Many a time applicants are asked to provide personal information including their interests, hobbies and also marital status. Some recruiters feel that this information is useful. I agree with that view. In my opinion, personal information gives a lot of insight into a job applicant’s personality and hence it is crucial; however, there is a small risk of it being misused by the employer. However, whether an employee needs to share personal information depends on the nature of the job. For example, a recruiter does not have to ask for the personal information of a contract employee or a consultant whose service is required for only a short period. Whereas in the case of a permanent job an employer must know about an applicant’s hobbies or interests as knowing about a person’s interests can help to understand if they possess leadership skills or if they are a team player. An employer may also benefit from knowing a potential employee ’s marital status. For example, if an employer is looking to hire an air hostess who is supposed to work odd hours and even on weekends, it does not make sense for them to hire a woman with young kids. On the downside, some people insist that employers should not ask for personal information. According to them, the recruiter may use personal information to discriminate against an employee and this argument is valid to a certain extent. For example, an employer may decide not to hire an applicant whose religious or political ideologies clash with theirs. To sum it up, I believe that personal information is useful for the employer because in most cases it is a very important indicator of a person’s personality and his comfort level with a job. It is, therefore, understandable why employers ask for this. However, there is a small risk that the employer could use this information against an employee.