Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Knowledge never goes into vain, be it related to science or arts. Our world needs development regarding different sections and each of it is constituted of different subjects. If everyone starts getting into one section, others will vanish and so will the world suffer both in terms of development and psychological as well. Our community is comprised of different kinds of people and so their interests differ and if we are to force something onto someone we will automatically be led into a society that is not happy and mentally stable at all. I personally believe that freedom to choose what one likes, must be given to everyone. It is evident that science and technology have become the go-to choice for students these days but that does not mean one should leave behind other subjects and most important interests of students themselves must be taken into account. If a student likes art, or dance, or literature, it is quite possible that he/she will excel in it. Also, if we want to maintain a balance between different fields and we don't want one field to become saturated we will have to allow our students to study what interests them. People arguing that pupils must be only allowed to study science and technology have one thing in common; they assume that benefits come into society only through these channels. In fact, this is not the case. Communities grow together, in harmony and peace, allowing freedom of choice to everyone regardless of gender, or age, or religion. We will only limit our student's capabilities if we are to impose such a measure on them. To conclude it, considering the facts that i have mentioned above, students must be given distinctive choice to study whatever they find suits them. In this way, we can prosper and create a community free from hatred and that grows together. Moreover, if we don't want to be left behind we'd have to allow our pupils to get their hands on whatever fits their interests.