Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in cities.

It is an irrefutable fact that the alarming increase of cars on the roads, particularly in metropolitans, is leading to a number of issues related to traffic congestion. This phenomenon has detrimental impacts on the environment and mental health of individuals. The following paragraphs will analyze remedial measures to tackle this problem. In terms of the solution of the increased quantity of vehicles on the traffic, I believe that the government is largely responsible. First and foremost, authorities should impose strict traffic rules. For instance, nowadays, many families own more than one car even if the family is small. The government should define the number of vehicles a family can own based on the number of its members. This would restrict wealthy families from owning several cars, for each member unnecessarily. Secondly, public transportation should be developed and made more convenient. Busses can be equipped with air conditioners, and regularly cleaned and cater for more destinations. Take, for example, Tashkent. Public transport is inconvenient and inefficient, therefore; many people prefer taxies or their own cars. Similarly, the government should develop facilities for bicycles. As bicycles are eco-friendly, authorities should encourage people to choose them as means of transportation. This can be achieved by constructing more accessible parking lots and funding cheap bicycle renting spots around the city. To conclude, if special measures are not taken to decrease the number of cars on the roads, this issue will only escalate. I believe that governments have a critical role to play to ensure that the traffic in big cities is reduced.