Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human?

Water is an essential part of our ecosystem. However, nowadays, pollution of lakes and seas is an turning into a global alarming issue. Water contamination may be caused by a number of reasons, some of them are released chemicals into the water and oil leakages. This, may result in degradation of animal's and human live qualities. The following paragraphs will analyze the main reasons of water pollution and its effects on people and biodiversity. To commence with the reasons of water pollution, first and foremost, agricultural waste released into the water can make it unsafe to drink. More specifically, all the pesticides and fertilizers first seep into the soil and then into the groundwater, rendering it poisonous for the human consumption. All heavy metals and chemicals people consume with water can lead to grievous consequences. For instance, they can cause cancer or disrupt human hormones. Another reason is an oil leakage in oceans and seas. This poses a big threat to marine mammal extinction. Contaminated water becomes unsafe for marine animals and can cause disruptive behaviour. Furthermore, people are massively dumping huge amounts of their waste into rivers, seas and oceans. Subsequently, as water is getting more polluted, it is getting more difficult for coral, shellfish and other fish to survive. For example, it was reported many times that fishes were found with plastic in their stomach. To conclude, water contamination is mostly the result of human activities, such as industrial or human waste disposal. It is an issue that severely affects the environment, driving biodiversity loss and human health degradation.