Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Companies may occasionally require applicants to provide their personal data, like their marital status and leisure time activities. While many think this information can be used for employment purposes, others believe employers should avoid questioning job seekers about their personal situations. I disagree with the former statement, and in contrast, I think that these questions are not related to the recruitment process. On the one hand, opponents, including myself, argue that employers must act according to professional criteria when hiring new staff. Traits such as personal skills, level of education, and job-related experiences must be prioritized over the applicants' individual circumstances. For example, if a music school hires a person based on his general interest in arts, that person would not fulfill his duties due to a lack of knowledge. Furthermore, they also think that collecting and holding personal info exposes them to several threats, like being stolen or being subject to fraudulent activities. On the other hand, proponents feel if a company can obtain these data, it would be beneficial as it will have access to more details that can be used to assess the job applications effectively. Moreover, they express that possessing extra data about employees can help the company adapt its policies according to workers' interests and thereby increase their self-esteem and productivity. For instance, if most workers have demonstrated that they tend to do regular exercise, using this data, the company can purchase gym equipment or arrange other collective sports such as Football. In conclusion, I am convinced that the drawbacks outweigh the potential benefits, and therefore individuals should not put these questions on applicants in a job interview. Alternatively, they can be assessed based on professional characteristics such as organizational and communication skills, leadership, and time management.