Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Presently, some claim that the consumption of unnecessary products has increased significantly because of advertising. This essay completely agrees with this because of two main reasons. First of all, producers employ marketing strategies in advertising to motivate consumers to buy their products. In other words, the ads are full of marketing tools that have the ability to encourage consumers to decide for a purchase more easily. Celebrity endorsement, for example, is one of the effective strategies which exploits their fan bases to accelerate the growth of sales. The increasing purchases come mainly from the fact that the followers of the well-known figures are convinced that they can contribute to their success and support them by using the products advertised by their admired ones. It is therefore agreed that advertising causes unnecessary consumption. Second, advertising creates trends in societies. This is because the audience are easily stimulated to make a purchase by the campaigns followed by the television commercials.. One example here is that taking a picture with the Coke’s drinkers’ name on the Coke cans. In Thailand and Singapore, this campaign, in the past 5 five years, could productively accelerate the sales because the beverage was bought in bulk by young drinkers just for snapshots to be posted on Facebook. Apparently, the advertising industry gives rise to inessential spending. In conclusion, personally, I totally believe that advertising activities are extremely effective in boosting the sales growths and encouraging individuals to easily pay more because a number of strategic marketing tools and trends.