Some people get into debt by buying things that they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour. What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Consumerism is a part of modern economic policy and it has led to users spending money on unnecessary products. there are many reasons for this problem some of which are addressed in this essay and the proper solution for each is discussed. As is said above, one of the most important motives of consumerism is the modern economic policies. In the 19th century due to the industrial,revolution a lot of products were being manufactured in a short amount of time one of the best examples for this issue is fashion which was a particular and luxurious way of living before the industrial revolution. the fashionable clothing was only for the elite part of the society and was being done by tailors in small numbers but after the dressmaking became industrial investors targeted the ordinary people to be interested in fashion and clothing. Another reason can be the media as everyone becomes interested in the shiny colourful life of celebrities and Instagrammers they become obsessed to live that kind of lifestyle. for,example the number of sales in Italian cigars went dramatically up after the movie godfather was released. There are many actions that can be done regarding these flaws. industries nowadays don't need over-consumption to survive so the production line designers can come up with a study to plan and predict the need of each social class and produce the goods based on the provided data. social media like Instagram and tictoc can spend more time and money to cultivate people and influencers and Instagrammers should be concerned about the message they are giving to their audience. people also should acknowledge that the expensive way of living that Instagrammers choose is actually part of the advertisement and they do not need to reach those standards if they can not afford it and there should be a version of happiness being advertised in every social class. for,instance Hemingway visualises a version of happiness when he is in Paris and penniless and he didn't keep fixating on spending money, instead he showed how he managed to live as an active member of society with a low amount of money. all in all, as is mentioned industrial revolution and media are 2 main reasons for this sort of behaviour and with the right social study and planning for productivity and proper,advertisement these issues can be solved.