Nowadays, more and more people from different cities are spending more time away from their families. What are the possible reasons and the effects on the people themselves and their families?

Since time immemorial, the pattern of living and living style has been changing day by day. Consequently, in this day and age, a large number of people are staying in different big cities away from their families. The desire for higher studies and better working opportunities are the predominant reasons behind this phenomenon, creating many personal and family problems. One of the cogent reasons for living away from parents and other members is to pursue tertiary education. To be more precise, inasmuch as, in rural areas, reputed universities along with state of the amenities are not established, youngsters have to move to central cities in order to achieve higher degrees, causing a gap between family members. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 90% of rural students every year leave their hometown so as to gain a higher degree, leading them to live alone in a new area. Apart from that, with a view to earning more, some individuals migrate to another country, causing a large distance from family members. They leave their homeland in that they do not get the proper value of their skills and qualifications. Thus, so as to gain knowledge and money, individuals have to live alone apart from families. This tendency indubitably has many detrimental repercussions on a person’s life as well as his or her family. For a start, insofar as individuals have to struggle alone in another city, they cannot share their feelings, emotions or any issues with their loved ones, leading them to face mental stress and depression. To exemplify, researchers around the world have found that much as overseas students have potentials, they usually cannot do well in exams because of missing parents and having stress. As well as that, parents also have to stay in old-age homes in their advanced age down to not getting help from their children, creating more dysfunctional families and ununited society. In this way, the family bonding is losing gradually. In conclusion, inasmuch as more people now want to achieve higher education and earn money, they have to stay away from families, which is not good for them and their families.