Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that sale promotion has such huge influences on the consumption of best-selling products that people no longer buy what they really want. Although I think that the impacts of advertisement on customers’ behaviors are inevitable, I hold a strong belief that consumers buying goods depends mainly on their true demands. On the one hand, wise marketing strategies could have considerable effects on sales. People seem to be tempted easily by adverts showing the latest brands with up-to-minute functions and trendy models. For example, a variety of technophiles tend to chase new versions launched by Apple every year despite perfect functions of ones they are using. Also, impressive and unique advertisements repeated daily on mass media are likely to attract more customers’ attention, the fact that makes them outstanding from other rivals in the competitive market. On the other hands, I think that people buy goods based on their true needs because of several reasons. Firstly, customers seemingly only pay attention to adverts of goods that they already have the intention to buy. Secondly, advertises only give options and it is buyers that make the purchasing decisions mainly relying on their interests and demands. Finally, apart from the trendy values of newest brands promoted widely, people usually find it convenient using the new versions because the products are designed and updated to meet the requirements of the current society. For example, opening by facial features and higher quality of camera of the new version of iPhone, an Apple product, appear to be the convenient functions updated that might make people decide to replace old ones. In conclusion, while advertising significantly affects on consumption of popular products, I strongly disagree that people buying goods do not depend on their real desire.