Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water contamination is a serious form of pollution that can lead to adverse effects such as drought, aqua erosion and contamination of marine ecology. This essay will identify the possible cause and effects of water contamination. Firstly, the main cause of water pollution is the direct disposal of industrial activities. Numerous industries have been discharging toxic chemical compounds such as metallic sulfides or cyanides. When being introduced into lakes, rivers, and seas without filtration, these toxic wastes poison animals and plants, consequently destroy the ecosystem. Even when the industrial waste is buried in the ground, it can still permeate the soil to pollute the underground water, thus begin the process again. Secondly, another cause is due to overcapacity of landfills. The poor waste management inland leads the waste to be thrown in seas. Without the recycling process, the plants of the sea could be damaged, hence seas animals would consume the waste accidentally. For instance, a year ago a shark was found dead on the beach of Bali. People found out that there were many plastics inside the shark. Last but not least, the other cause is the oil spill. A disaster happens if crude oil is leaked from a petroleum tanker, which is also a reason for sea pollution. Most marine animals cannot digest oil, or cleanse the spilling oil on their feathers. Therefore, they will die soon unless there are human interventions. The spill also adversely affect seawater, which damages the tourist industry of coastal regions. To summarize, water pollution is mostly the result of oil spills and industrial or human waste disposal. It severely affects the environment and subsequently the life of animals and humans.