In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there has been increasingly emphasis on vocational courses in the school curriculum in some European countries with the expressed purpose of providing some pupils in the age bracket of 11-13 years old more practical skills that will help them to be more employable in the future. Other children continue with the traditional route with general academic subjects as usual. Although this may seem a sensible idea to introduce pupils to the adult working life, I believe that children from the age of 11-13 years old are too vulnerable to be exposed to the harsh working environment and should stay in the school until they commence high schools or higher educations. The school plays an indispensable role in providing backdrop in children's life. Children are provided with some ground rules such as conventions and codes of conducts, which they then can follow themselves, hopefully leading to an absence of truancy and delinquency. Exposing them to the working life will not only create a distance to the academic discipline but will also robe their childhood from them. Revamping the school curriculum in order to make pupils more employable rises another risks. It is apparent that more often than not pupils are left to their own devices to arrange their clinical internship. The most cogent argument is that the vast majority are set to do some low-level manual work because they are perceived as worker with no skills at all. In conclusion, I believe that children should be kept in the school until they reach the adolescent stage of their life and develop a more mature mindset. Prior to that children should be allowed to enjoy their childhood.