Some people think the government should focus on improving the economy of the country. Other people think that government should focus on social services such as health and education programs. Which statement do you agree with? Explain and provide examples to support your opinion.

While some argue that government should give priority to boost the economy over improve the quality of social services, others maintain otherwise. From my perspective, I back the latter suggestion for the following reasons. This article will explore more on my decision. On one hand, we cannot draw a conclusion if we do not take the gist of government into consideration. It’s common knowledge that government reign the country and make policies. The reason why the party is granted premium power is that ordinary people need them to cater for their needs. In this case, governments should pay more attention to supporting these social services that are hooked with the standards of life of average people. By contrast, Researches show that even though the economy is developing rapidly in most countries, the public satisfaction in those countries does not seem to match with the government endowment. Take China and Hollands as examples. Polls conducted by a prestigious institution show that in China, where the economy is well developed, public satisfaction is relatively lower than that in Hollands where the economy is lagging behind in some respects. It contradicts the aim of the government. Therefore, governments should focus on social services. Some claim that government, namely a party that has the right to do everything, should place the economic development of its country in the first place on the account that the standards of life are hooked with it. It’s true that a burgeoning economy guarantees the public ample material conditions. However, focusing on developing the economy does not bring the country a bright future as focusing on social services does. More specifically, children will boost the qualities of life in the future if they are well-educated since they are the future residents of the world. For example, most people in the future will be a citizen that contributes to the society if we teach them about our social norms and values. By contrast, an economic recession can occur at any time being and shatter the quality of life no matter how well the government operates. We cannot risk the future of the country since we are accountable for the next generation. Therefore, we should pay more attention to develop the harmony of the society rather than economic perspectivity. Simply put, the ultimate goal of government should be to build up a society with harmony. Government should pay more attention to social services that are directly hooked on societal well-being rather than the economy. Overall, I lean to the second suggestion over the first one.