In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

It will become increasingly popular for the elderly who live in many parts of the world in the upcoming years. From my perspective, I believe that the positive and negative effects have existed as two faces of a coin. Admittedly, the number of senior citizens growing in popularity has several points in its favour. To begin with, the elderly have pleasure to do charity for the sake of whole society. For instance, groups of the elder people established provide a free supportive resource for educating poor children and cleaning up. Moreover, they are familiar with traditional cultures and ways of life. In other words, aged citizens understand cultural essence as well as moral values and they play a crucial role in preserving and passing them on young generations. On the other hand, negative consequences of this development should be taken into consideration. First and foremost, an increase in pension benefits and a greater demand for health care services. To be specific, aged citizens are unable to keep contributing to country’s economy growth because of their poor health and they have to live on their offspring and social welfare under the form of pension. Last but not least, aging population can result in a shrinking number of young people at working age and labour shortage. This means that there are many job vacancies in many fields and causing severe economic stagnation. In summary, not only does a higher percentage of senior citizens bring benefits, but also has detrimental effects on nation’s economic and labour resources.