One way to reduce the problem of traffic congestion is by increasing the tax on private vehicles. Do you think this is a feasible solution?

Nowadays, every country is facing multiple issues due to heavy traffic on roads and authorities believe that enhancing tax on personal vehicles might reduce the purchasing power of customer; consequently, congestion might be reduced. I strongly disagree with this opinion, as it might adversely impact the economy as well as the society. Firstly, we will discuss the implications of burdening the buyers with heavy duties and secondly, we will explain its impact on financial position of corporate. To begin with, 90 percent population in our country belongs to mediocre or lower class, hence, either they can’t afford it or buy it on loan from bank. Rising tariff on non commercial vehicles is definitely going to hamper their pockets. It has become a necessity, as it is not practically possible to do every task on bicycle. Additionally, it is quite helpful in case of medical emergencies. For example, my neighbor got badly injured and needed urgent help, whereas, ambulance was not available due to heavy rush, hence I carried him to hospital in my car. Thus, it has become an integral part of our life; moreover, government should strengthen the traffic system rather than increasing the cess. On the other hand, the agenda of the rulers to enhance the government duties will negatively impact the automobile industry. It is a billion dollar industry; however, this small decision might be disastrous for their sales. Reduced sales will strike a hammer on profits plus the company will certainly go for cost cutting. For example, Ford in USA closed one of their plant; as their sales dipped due to heavy duties imposed by government. Therefore, administrators should focus on creating awareness among citizens to either use public vehicles or to start car pooling instead of levying hefty cess on that. To recapitulate, making a thing expensive is not a logical approach to prevent people from buying; alternatively, building infrastructure as well as incentivizing usage of public transport would be a better option.