Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, air contaminants and traffic have become catastrophic phenomena. Many people believe that governments should increase the price of petrol to tackle these problems. I totally disagree with this statement. From my perspective, there are other effective solutions to resolve these obstacles. It is undeniable that one dominant cause of traffic and pollution are mass private car users. The biggest problem with increasing the price of petrol is that this causes growth in the cost of commute and transportation either by public transport or private cars. Consequently, higher fuel cost is less likely to limit the number of drivers. Moreover, as far as social issues are concerned, by increasing the cost of fuel cost of living would rise as well which will eventually lead to a less safe country. People may find pickpocketing and burglarizing the way to earn money. In my view, other steps should be taken to control these crises. The first possible measure is equipping public transportation with comfortable seats and good air condition to persuade people to use them. For instance, in my country many people do not tend to go to their workplace by bus during summer because of the low air ventilation system. Furthermore, in terms of traffic, authorities could build more underground trains and air railways to reduce the traffic on the road. In conclusion, I believe that while rising the cost of fuels is not a practical policy to reduce traffic and air contaminant, spending more money on extending the quality of public transportation and improving the choices of public transport services available for travellers can be good strategies.