Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that small corporations should consider not interviewing women who have not got pregnant yet to avoid paying maternity leave in the future. The paragraphs below will outline a strong disagreement with this issue, giving motives to justify it. To begin with, the main reason why I do not agree with such rude attitude is due to the sexist nature of it. Women should be hired by their hard and soft skills and not by their marital status or intentions to constitute a family afterwards. More specifically, if entrepreneurs start imposing any kind of restrictions to hire females who have not had children yet, they will perpetuate unemployment among this gender, who statistically already receive smaller wages than men, by a natural event that any person could or will experience in life. Therefore, this decision would incit gender bias and condone sexism. Furthermore, another reason why I consider these employment barriers a negative aspect is because these companies would lose essential sensitive and incisive minds for improving the company's perspectives. Nowadays, women are postponing pregnancy and even relationships to focus on their careers. For instance, the economic success of great nations relative to other countries worldwide such as New Zealand and the Netherlands are reported due to their gendered political constitution, which is represented in their majority by females. Thus, small businesses would delay their economic growth by avoiding hiring young women for staff. To conclude, I strongly disagree with the adoption of these sexist measures in small-sized corporations since it would be harmful to the enterprise itself and also would encourage gender bias. Hence, changing these internal policies would be beneficial for both the staff and the company.