The best way to deal with the rising problem of traffic and transportation is to encourage people to live in cities rather than in the suburbs or in the countryside. To what extend you agree?

Traffic congestion and transportation problems are indeed burdens to metropolitan areas. One of the solutions have been raised is that the residential zones should be moved to suburbs or rural areas, and I totally agree with this notion. The essay will provide relevant discussions to support the idea. First of all, people living in non-urban areas would commute less into the city for essential utilities, and this tendency could create a decrease in the traffic downtown. In particular, suburbs residences would tend to use the facilities in their neighborhood for time saving and convenience reasons. Such tendency lessens the capacity pressure for urban facilities and distribute the courbanions, hence decreases the traffic density to inner city. One of the successful evidence for this shift is Singapore. Thanks to the suitable extension of facilities for suburban areas, the traffic jam surrounding mass convenience areas in this country has witnessed a reduction of 7% over the last decade. Non-urban residences also create another contribution to the reduction of urban traffic density as they are enthusiastic supporters for public transportation. When people in rural areas commute a long distance to downtown, they would prefer public transport because of its affordability and convenience. Consequently, the number of personal vehicles is reduced in the city since more people travel by public transportation. However, it is notable that such scenario will only work well when the government develop an effective and dense mass transit. In conclusion, encouraging people to live in non-urban zones is one of the noteworthy ideas to solve the alert problem of traffic jam as it could decrease the quantity of traffic off-road. Admittedly, this solution is effective only if the local infrastructure and facility meet the standard for residences.