For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary. To what extent do you think this is a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In recent years, people have started visiting malls and stores more frequently to pass their time and have a rendezvous. This was not the case decades ago when they only went to stores to purchase essentials. I believe this is a negative trend as it encourages people to do prodigal spending. With the rise in the number of shopping malls and arcades, people find every fun activity in one place such as cinemas, clubs, gaming arcades, and so on. This gives birth to an increase in expenditure as individuals are expected to do more expenses in such places. For example, if two friends meet each other after a long time in such a place, they are obvious to purchase meals from a restaurant or even watch a film in the movie theatre. Another negative aspect of this practice is the rise in obesity amongst humans. As it has become a trend to visit the malls, a huge number of people delve into adopting unhealthy eating habits. In other words, they are more inclined towards eating junk food, causing them to gain weight. For instance, many shopping places now have fast-food chains like McDonald's and Domino's, which people prefer eating from when they are shopping. In conclusion, it is true that, unlike the older days, shopping malls have become popular for people to spend leisure time at; however, it can be detrimental to an individual's pocket as doing this forces him to make more monetary expenses. If this practice is excessively carried out, it may also lead to dire consequences like getting obese.