Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is clear that the invention of the internet has led to dramatic changes in the way information is distributed and accessed. This essay will explore two of the problems which have resulted from these changes and propose measures that might address them. One concern in terms of sharing information is that private data may now be more vulnerable to theft. This is because the information is increasingly stored electronically rather than physically, which means that it can be stolen by any hacker who infiltrates a website. Consequently, more news stories in today’s media relate to online security breaches than to physical robberies. To tackle this issue, companies that handle sensitive information must be legally required to install the strictest anti-hacking programs available. This should result in the protection of such information from cybercriminals. Turning to the consumption of information, one pressing problem is that much of what we read online is not true. Whereas in the past we mostly read news articles in established newspapers, nowadays, anyone can publish information on a blog or forum without having it verified. If those who read such falsehoods accept them as truths, they might spread this information further on social media, in turn misinforming the public. This problem could be mitigated by requiring social network websites to hire fact-checkers, whose job would be to check the validity of any news article before it is shared online. In conclusion, two of the main information -related concerns that the internet age has created are the vulnerability of data and the proliferation of fake news. However, these problems can be managed via the law-enforced installation of cutting-edge security software and the recruitment of social network fact-checkers.