Nowadays, children and teenager play more and more computer games. Parents think computer games have little value and more harmful effects. What's opinion?

As we move into twenty- first century, the technology is affecting many areas of life, and how to spend leisure times are no exception. It is apparent that children and adolescents spend more time playing computer or video games than ever before, which may wary many parents. I completely agree with this statement, and in this essay, I will try to outline on the detrimental effects computer games have on youths. There are several adverse ramifications to consider. Firstly, playing computer games makes children stop being active physically and encourages to a sedentary lifestyle. Instead of participating in outdoors activities with other children, offsprings prefer instant gratification and thrills from playing these games, as it is effortless than kicking a football or go for a stroll. Secondly, unhealthy convenience food moves in tandem with this lifestyle, which further exacerbates these negative effects. Finally, it has been suggested that they become indifferent to surroundings and do not participate in family activities. Although some research have shown that computer games may lead to better spatial awareness and multitasking, the benefits do not eclipsed by these shortcomings. More often than not, computer games harbor violent materials, and the content may be loaded with different fast-paced animations, rampant violence and death scenes which may harm children's further intellectual development and maturity. They may even grow accustomed to these scenes thinking that what they are seeing is totally normal. For instance, a Danish study of young delinquents reported that adolescents who spent more time playing violent video games in their childhood, were more inclined to a violent lifestyle later on. In summary, computer games encourage children and teenagers to a sedentary lifestyle and to the exposure of violent content. I fully support the propostion that computer games have only a little value and more harm effects.