Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

Women are strong, caring, loving and capable human beings. However, in the recent times, medias such as television and magazines begun to idealize adolescent, slender females as the standard of beauty. This essay will elucidate how these false ideals have impacted girls and ladies across the world negatively and the fixes to encounter those consequences. There are several issues resulting from the wrong assumption that only slim females under a certain age are considered beautiful. Firstly, to fit in the beauty standards of the society, females are trying to maintain their body image by consuming inadequate amounts of food so that they will not gain weight. This can lead to insufficient daily intake of necessary nutrition as well as gastric diseases. Furthermore, women have become immensely insecure with the way they look. Unaware of the fact that some models and actresses edit their photographs before they post on social media, younger girls constantly compare themselves to those images and feel hideous which causes serious mental health problems such as anxiety and depression. On the bright side, there are actions that can be taken to tackle these effects. One significant solution is for the Government and healthcare authorities to invest in promoting health campaigns to spread awareness of this phenomenon. Despite the gender or age, society need to realize that beauty standards are abstract, and that health is above all. Secondly, media influencers should also step in to empower the women across the globe. They should use their reach of audience to change the perspective of what is cute or pretty. For example, singer and composer Demi Lovato, posted a non-edited picture on her social media platform and reminded that no matter the body weight or the measurements, every woman is gorgeous in their own ways. To conclude, with the dominance of news and media, females have become far more vulnerable than before resulting in unconsciously harming themselves both physically and mentally. Nevertheless, there are viable solutions available such as conducting well-being programs and influence of famous people.