Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that children should be encouraged by parents to take part in some activities in their free time while some say that it is the child that needs to develop his interest and occupy themselves with activities of their own. This essay agrees that a child should have the liberty to occupy themselves in their free time without their parents intervention. This essay will discuss both the views. During a young age, children usually have a lot of time on their plate. It is often seen that during this time they are able to find activities that they are highly interested in which may further lead to them pursuing a career in that activity. As a result, letting them learn how to make themselves busy with tasks of their interest helps in shaping their future. I personally found out that my peak interest is in playing chess during my early days as a youngster which helped me pursue a career as a chess player. On the other hand, parents can organise certain events for their young ones which might help in overall development. However, if the child is uninterested in that activity, it would prove to be a waste of time for them or moreover hinder their development in activities they are interested in. For example, the legendary batsman in the game of cricket named Sachin Tendulkar himself mentioned that he would have achieved more success in cricket if he had not wasted his time in other sports which his parents used to send him to play. While the child is able to understand his niche at an early age by participating in activities he likes, intrusion of parents in the child's free time might delay the process. In conclusion, the child should spend his free time on his own and if the parents want to conduct any activities for their children, they should take into account their child's interests and arrange events accordingly.