With the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations, air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. Some people say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people are convinced that due to air contamination, noise pollution and airport construction which are in results of a raise in cheap-travel flights, the governments should appoint a higher excise on flights in order to diminish these problems. In my point of view, imposing higher tax on flights is not a sensible decision, because air planes are the safest and in long distances, are the fastest way of transportation. Also it only leads to more expensive tickets that people should pay. Moreover, the popularity that air travels has gained, cannot be easily reduced and people will still employ air planes. Furthermore, with the increase in the cost of tickets and taxes, the number of flight passengers will decline, which may lead to financial trouble and even bankruptcy of flights companies. Despite the positive possible consequences of imposing higher tax on flights, the reverse opinion is more believable for me, because the tourism industry is Mostly dependent on flights and the cheaper the flights to a country is, the more tourists will be attracted to; tourism industry is a significant source of income for numerous countries, so if the governments increase the price of tickets, the damage will be only reflected on themselves. To conclude, in spite many are believed that taxing flights more heavily will have great effects on air and noise pollution, it is still obvious that the demerits of the increase in the tax of flights is more considerable as it affects tourism industry and people financial situation.