The best way to help underachieving pupils is to have compulsory after school activities which they must attend. This way they will become more involved in school and their grades will improve. To what extent do you agree?

It is often considered that, mandatory class attendance is necessary after school activities for underachieving students to make them more involved in their school works and to achieve better grades. I completely agree that attending extra classes after school should be compulsory because it will help students to get extra attention of their tutors and they will grow interest in their studies. Firstly, attending classes after school will give the underachieving pupils a chance to get special attention of their teachers and to communicate with them. In regular classes there are many students and it is often not possible for a teacher to give full concentration on every students. Thus, some students who are a bit slow than others fall back and they do not come forward in the class for their teacher’s help because of shyness. Therefore, extra classes give the opportunity to both teacher and poor students to communicate and overcome their problems. A student can ask the teacher any questions without any hesitation and overcome his weakness. This will help all the weak students to become confident about themselves and encourage them to involve in more school activities. Secondly, by attending additional classes underachieving students will get more chances to practice their school tasks which will clear their concepts and will grow interests in those specific topics. As it is said that, practice makes a man perfect, it is also goes for the weak students as well. By practicing a topic that is hard to a student will help him to understand it and when the concept gets clear the student start to grow interest in his studies. Increasing interests will help the student do better in his examination and achieve good grades. In conclusion, additional classes after school for weak students is necessary for overcoming their weakness and to develop interest in their school activities.