In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime. Many people believe that installing CCTV cameras is the best way to prevent crimes from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, in many metropolitan cities, the citizens witness an increase in the installation of video camera. Some people raise concern on whether surveillance cameras are the best way to deter crimes. From my perspective, I totally agree that installing CCTV cameras is the finest way to improve public security. There is no doubt that video cameras decrease the crime rate in cities and many other public places. The main reason is that being under constant surveillance of CCTV cameras deters criminals from commiting crimes. Offenders may have a sense of fear if they understand that they are being watched and this can prevent them from performing illegal activities. To improve public safety, many countries in the world have installed many video cameras on almost every road which can observe every single activity. Take New Zealand for example, which is considered as one of the most peaceful countries in the world, has considerably reduced the crime rate during night by installing video cameras at all public places. Moreover, the installation of CCTV cameras not only decrease the crime rate but also prevent other vandalism. Obviously, the best source of access to what has happened during public brawl is monitoring the recorded videos. By this way, police can arrest vandals and prevent other public destruction from happening. For instance, in Mid-Atlantic city, thanks to video cameras, the police arrested thousands of vandals who had graffitied the whole street’s walls and led to the loss of urban landscape. In addition, CCTV cameras can assure citizens' assurance and make their lives safer. Even in the worst situations if they get robbed or their private properties are damaged, they still can identify the offender by following recorded cameras. In conclusion, video cameras play an important role in public’s safety and I consider the installation of cameras is the best way to ensure it. In the future, there will be more and more CCTV cameras installed in streets and even in the countryside for public benefit.