Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

In today's society, consumerism is one of the most debatable questions. It is a complex issue with a host of factors. Although increased consumption is beneficial for the economy, it detrimentally affects people's wellbeing getting them financial burdens. The following paragraphs will discuss the reasons for artificial wants and propose remedial measures. To commence with the reasons, first and foremost, everyone wants to be happy and believes that only new things can make their life fulfilled. For instance, a newly launched phone's promotion can incite people to throw away their old phones and rush into shops driven by the goal to have a better camera or a wider screen. However, these things have little or no impact on achieving peace of mind. Secondly, all the advertisements and magazines encourage people to spend their money. As a result, individuals get into debt trying to buy the advertised items. In terms of solutions, I am convinced that individuals should be aware of their actions. Before every purchase, they should give themselves some time to analyze whether they really need a new dress or TV, rather than buying it on impulse. Additionally, parents should educate their children, encouraging them to be more spiritual rather than materialistic. At a young age, children should understand true values that can fulfil their lives. For example, parents can read books. To conclude, consumerism has many reasons, the most common are advertisements, humans' natural wish to be more attractive and have a better life. This issue can be tackled only when individuals start questioning themselves and thinking critically before purchasing on impulse.