In many countries it is common for families to own and run their business. Some people think it is the best way to run a business while other consider this a potential source of problems. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Despite the fact that some people think that family business is the best suitable model, I believe that there are several drawbacks that potential cause businesses own and managed by families are not successful. In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide reasons and examples supporting my standpoint. On the one hand, there are a number of benefits supporting famlies business concept. Firstly, it is the most cost-saving business model since the companies do not need to hire much managers; the families business management structure mostly are from families member and one person can take many roles. Secondly, the knowhow or expertise can be passed to generations. For example, in Thailand, there are many restaurants that can keep the secret recipe or special methods and develop it to be a very unique brand identity. These strength bring a very successful to this family business model. On the other hand, Having and runing your own families business could cause tons of issues. To begin with, can you imagine yourself have the same home and workplace environment? You colleagues can also be your father or brother. This model make unclear boundary between work and personal. At the end, most people working with their families usually end up with work life not balance. Then, since most familiy families members are employee, it is quite difficult to separate between personal and business pocket. Try as you may, it could probably occur the grey situation that someone might overuse the others' budget as they think 'we share everything as family ' Lastly, family business may lost a good opportunity to hire a good management or expert. Family leaders are mostly the same person as business leader; however, in some cases, due to generation gap, those leaders might not fit in new wave of business or do not understand it enough. In conclusion, it seems to me that having owned and run by the families is not the best way to lead business due to many critical problems: blended work and home environment, money management, and losting opportunity to employ the right man to the right job.