In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. what is the reason? should the trend be changed?

There is a dominant trend that girls are willing to study arts and boys have more tendency to science subjects. This essay will discuss the main reasons of this issue and propose a logical conclusion. The two major causes of this matter include different behavourial traits between men and women and historical background and beliefs. Firstly, men and women are supposed to have different general characteristics, which make some activities preferable for them. For example, it is often said that women are more precise and have more delicacy that is considered to be a requirement for engaging in artworks. On the other hand, boys are thought to be more successful in science areas, as they can concentrate better or they are thought to be smarter. Furthermore, this matter is accentuated by a strong belief from the past that girls are not capable of being a scientist, while they can be a successful artist. In fact, the old generation unconsciously led the next generation to obey this unwritten law. These are the reasons why different areas of knowledge are dedicated to girls and boys. In my opinion, gender has nothing to do with determining the field of education. In other words, students should opt for a field that suits their talents, abilities and qualifications, regardless of gender. Limiting students based on their sex is a destructive trend that should be replaced and warned about. To illustrate, there are numerous female scientists, who have contributed to knowledge and expanded science borders. Added to this, many leading artists are male. Therefore, the drawbacks of the existing trend should be revealed and scholars should be granted the kind of knowledge they deserve. To conclude, the matter of engaging more girls in art and subsequently their low proportion in studying science and also the reverse for boys is mainly formed by wrong beliefs and highlighting some general behavourial features and I believe that this destructive thought should reform in a way that scholars pick their majors based on their interests and realized talents instead of general features of two genders.