Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

In this day and age, a rising number of people are getting into debt as they purchase products that are exorbitant and not affordable. In this essay, the reason for this situation and some measures to address it will be given out. To commence with, the most rational cause for this negative trend is uncontrolled advertisements. Given that they appear at a wide range of places, such as on the Internet or on buildings, citizens will be unconsciously attracted to these commercial campaigns and spend their money on those commodities without thinking about their value seriously. As a result, they overspend on appliances that are useless to their daily lives and work and only realise that after losing a great amount of money. Occasionally, criminals manipulate people through the means of product advertisement and take their properties away, which makes them go bankrupt. To prevent this situation from being exacerbated, there are several solutions for citizens to follow. Firstly, people should make plans for regular expenditures and savings in both short and long terms. For example, after receiving their salary, workers can divide them into separated parts for spending on utilities and savings. By doing this, not only can they hinder themselves from overspending and borrowing money, but they can also set aside a reasonable amount of funding, which they could use to invest in other worthy aspects such as hobbies or health. Additionally, it is a good idea to take into consideration all the downsides and benefits of a product before purchasing it so that we can avoid unworthy expenses. In conclusion, when people overspend on unaffordable products and fall into debt, commercials are to blame. To tackle this issue, citizens should make expenditure plans and consider carefully when buying valuable products.