Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Whether or not there is a growth rate of people who owned cars is a topic of interest. Some believe that the rise of that, can lead to several problems to the city. This essay conveys that the increase in car ownership has existed for years. In addition, the governments are the primary contributor to mitigate this issue. First of all, it is undeniable that people are more likely to own a private car rather than traveling by the public transport ones. This is due to the lack of quality of the latter, serving to citizens. For instance, in Thailand, public buses are quite dangerous to take as the bus takers are always driving over the limited speed, which there is a number of people have injured by them. Moreover, people, living in rural areas, affirm that it is difficult to find the public ones if they do need to be both school and work on time. Solutions for this is that the governments should develop and create new schemes for public transportations in order to increase the number of people used. For example, the authorities have to invest more money to establish rapid train and bus not only the rural area but also the others, where the public transport has not existed. Additionally, the old public transports should also need to be developed and changed to be in a good standard as well. As a consequence, the public ones will gain more interest among people and that contribute to the reduction of car ownership. In conclusion, I personally believe that nowadays, many people always travel by their private car due to lack of public quality. The government should, therefore, encourage people to use the public ones by developing those to be well-perform and far more convenient than their own car.