The natural resources such as oil, forests, and fresh water are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does it cause? How can we solve these problems.

Consumption of oil,forest and freshwater is being done at an alarming rate.It is a serious issue which should be given importance and sorted out at the earliest. Firstly,natural resources are those resources that are provided by the nature.Natural resources are classified into renewable and non-renewable resources.Renewable resources are those that can be used again and again.Non-renewable resources are those that cannot be replenished. For example, fossil fuels, fresh water etc.They are being recklessly utilised. For instance,the forests are being cut for numerous purposes like making furniture, widening roads or even constructing apartments. Secondly, cutting forests are called deforestation.Deforestation causes problems such as soil erosion, and is a contributor to global warming.Deforestation on a human scale results in a decline in biodiversity,and on a natural global scale is known to cause the extinction of many species. Thirdly,unnecessary water use not only contributes to local water shortages, but also adds to the volume of wastewater that must be treated by septic tanks or sewage treatment plants. As a result, excessive water use contributes to higher bills for energy, water, and sewer services.Fuels such as coal, petroleum release unburnt particles into the environment. The particles result in air pollution and cause respiratory diseases such as respiratory illness, lung damage, ozone (smog) effect, reduces the ability of blood to bring oxygen to the blood cells and tissues, liver and kidneys. In order to tackle these problems,environmentalists are trying to find alternatives.People are making use of alternative sources of energy. Solar power, for example, is both renewable and alternative because it will always be abundant and it emits no greenhouse gases.Scientists are working on use ethanol, water and electricity to run vehicles instead of using petrol or diesel. To conclude,everything should be used in the right quantity.Excess or overuse of resources can harm the environment and it will not be available for future generations.