Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that high school students should already start contributing to society by participating in unpaid community service. While this is very beneficial to the development of a child and its community, there is a drawback to it. This essay will first discuss the benefits of this idea and then look at the downside. First of all, having children participate in community work could give them more insights into their purposes in life. Whether doing charity work, brainstorming an ideas on how to improve the landscape of the neighbourhood, children can learn about their influence in society and various ways in through which they can aid other people’s lives. This, in turn, helps guide them in their future endeavours, which could be doing a degree or working right after finishing high school. Another benefit that community service can bring is educating children about empathy and compassion. In this abundant society, fortunate children easily develop complacency and entitlement, which leads to a lack in having patience with others and the inability to put themselves in other’s shoes. This could have detrimental consequences in their adult life, considering the fact that humans are highly social animals. In contrary to these positive notes, children could misunderstand the purpose of this activity, because of its compulsory nature. It is well known that mandatory subjects have a fairly negative connotation amongst adolescents. Therefore if community service was presented in a not so subtle way, students could develop a distaste towards this idea and potentially see it as redundant. As a result, if governments were to impose such a rule, they would have to think carefully about how to present it to young people. In conclusion, schools have to find exciting ways to engage students with this activity, if they want to mandate their students to do community work. If it is done right, children could obtain precious needed social skills to help them in their adulthood.