Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are marries or single. some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Job seekers are eventually asked to feed in their personal details by the prospective employers at the time when they are filling in the job application. This is considered as essential and needful piece of information by some people, whereas others opine this as irrelevant. This can be considered differently from a perspective of group of people. I actually regards this to be useful from my point of view and I would back up my statement in the following paragraphs. Firstly, It helps the employers to screen the candidate from the pool of job applicants. When a person apply for a job, there are certain specifics which an organisation may be keen into before employing that person. For instance, Married person may not be suitable for doing night shift as this would alter their family wellbeing. Secondly, Certain jobs require passion for it. These peculiar likes and dislikes of a person differentiates them from others. For example, If a job seeker have a keen interest in arts and crafts they will be well suited for creative job field, as they have passion for it. Similarly, Organisations keep a track record of every employee that they employ, which requires their personal information to be disclosed. However, there are certain people who views that it is not essential. They consider it as breach of their privacy, which most of them do not want to disclose. For saying, some folks do not want to disclose their marital status. Moreover they consider that sharing personal information has nothing to do with matching of a person with a job role. As this could never help a firm to determine their caliber. To conclude, this is a perspective based choices. Some find it offending, stating their own reasonable judgement but some view it as perfectly natural process of record keeping or track recording details of a person. I completely support the latter group of people and would stand by sharing personal information to the employer, as it does not harm me in anyway.