Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When applying for jobs, employees are asked to answer questions related to their personal interests and marital status. Few might consider this useful, while others might find it irrelevant. This essay will discuss the different points of view and will show my opinion regarding this topic. First, some people believe that obtaining information about hobbies and interests allow the interviewer to develop an overall image of the personality of the applicant. In other words, this type of detail is considered as a judgement tool when choosing the right person for the vacant position. Moreover, knowing the marital status of the interviewed person can be an important factor for some employers in order to determine their decision regarding recruitment. For example, studies have shown that unmarried employees are more productive and efficient than committed ones. Hence, these kinds of data can be of use when applying for a post. However, others might find that this type of detail is insignificant and in some cases intimidating. That is to say, few would consider that they are obliged to reveal their personal issues in order to have the opportunity to be hired. In addition to this, certain people think that building a general idea bout someone based on his interests is a sort of prejudgement and not fair, thus it can reduce his chances of being employed. For example, researches have shown that a big percentage of managers recruited people whose hobbies and interests were similar to theirs. Therefore, a person would find these data irrelevant. In conclusion, I believe that when filling a job application, only my skills and competencies matter and that ideas about my personal life should not be discussed for the reasons mentioned above. I prefer keeping a professional distance from my interviewers.