The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

The online platform for shopping all kind of materials from groceries to clothing is expanding at a faster pace. Some people opine that due to such surge in numbers of online buyers, small shops are affected and would one day have to shut down completely. I disagree with the said statement for the reasons stated below in this essay. To begin with, digital way of shopping has its benefits, it is much more convenient to buy all the items just at a click. It has recently gained much popularity owing to the prevailing offers and discounts, as there are no fixed costs involved unlike owning a shop. Having said that, it is not very easy to run an online business too, as it requires customer service and relation building much more than any small shop, the brands have to struggle to create their space in the market and lot of research and study is required at regular intervals. Also, still there is a huge portion of population who chooses to buy from small shops as they are not well versed with the technological education or equipment to get access to online shopping platform, they usually make all of their purchases from local shop owners. In addition to this, with the expansion of shopping websites and applications, many opportunities have become open for the small business owners to integrate with such websites and sell their products online. For instance, Amazon provides such an option for business owners all over the world, to be able to sell their products not only to their area but globally. To conclude, I would like to mention, change is imperative, thus, micro businesses should adapt to the new shopping era and update themselves by expanding their business circle through sale of items online instead of relying on the old fashioned way of generating income to stay competitive.