Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

A number of people do not understand that general fixed retirement age for everyone, independently of the occupation, is fair. These people think that some specific workers should start their retirement earlier than others. This essay will discuss the facts which make me agree that indeed some types of workers (e.g. a Bus Driver and a firefighter) should be granted early retirement. Firstly, it can not be denied that a bus driver is under much more pressure than a person who works inside the security of an office or a store. This professional has been under the stress of the traffic for several years, with full attention for the entire day without even blink their eyes, because they are responsible for taking care of a lot of lives during their journey. An example of this pressure is that they do not have room for errors, whereas, in some other activities, a mistake may be treated as part of their development. Secondly, it is totally unfair to have an old Firefighter (e.g. over 60 years) going after a victim inside a building under fire. While a person at this age normally carries a deep knowledge of the job, this profession requires some intense exercise. Furthermore, this professional is constantly putting their lives at risk. So, it is fair to reward them with this benefit. However, in some occupations, it is clearly acceptable to have someone around 60 years old. An example of that is a seller from a retail store, who is in a calm and safe environment, and do not need to go through dangerous situations. In conclusion, I strongly believe that workers who are working in stressful situations should have the possibility to retire and receive a pension earlier than the general population.