Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some companies question job applicants about their leisure activities and their marital status. Regarding this, there is an ongoing debate between those who believe that those information are valuable and those who disagree. This essay will elucidate the arguments from both perspectives. On the one hand, those who support the idea of personal information is relevant for employers point to the fact that it can be used to understand the applicant’s personality. For example, if the individual’s hobby is motorbike racing or cliff diving, it can be assumed that this person is someone who fancies taking risks. Secondly, marital history details can also be applicable in learning about the potential employee’s background. Lastly, the reason can partially be for statistical data collection for the organization’s analytical purposes. On the other hand, the commentators who argue that personal details are completely irrelevant for job application state that those facts do not contain or influence someone’s competence, which I personally agree as well. For instance, purely because a person claims that he/she enjoys painting or reading, it cannot be deduced that this person has a strong analytical mind. In addition, one’s social status or passions do not define the character of that individual, hence, it is useless to know about it. Finally, other data such as skills and achievements are more helpful to judge whether the candidate would become a suitable asset for the company or not. To summarise, in my perspective, more valid points are in favour of those who presume that it is not necessary for employers to be curious about candidate’s private information because it does not outline their qualities nor define their characters and is rather pointless compared to information regarding their abilities and accomplishments. Though, it is true that personal information can help employers learn their personalities, history and be used for data survey purpose, the arguments are weak compared to those of the opposing view.